Interview: “The Pope” Returns to Glasgow!

The Pope

The Pope

Great interview in today’s Scottish Sun with “The Pope” D’Angelo Dinero discussion his impending return to the UK with this January’s TNA Maximum iMPACT! Tour. You can read the full article below:

THE POPE may have just wrapped up a successful visit to the UK, but his wrestling namesake says his own trip to Scotland in January will be just as controversial.

TNA Wrestling star ‘The Pope’ D’Angelo Dinero will be part of the company’s European Maximum Impact 2011 tour, which visits Glasgow’s Braehead Arena on Tuesday January 27. And in an exclusive interview with The Scottish Sun online, he boasted: “I’m coming because my Scottish Congregation needs me.

“I was in Scotland on last year’s TNA tour and, even though I got injured there, I loved the place. I’ll be back again and this time at full power.”

Talking about his namesake, Pope added: “I had so many people emailing me last week asking was I already in the UK?

“People need educating that only when I make it to Scotland and England next year, will The Pope really have arrived.

“The best part is that I preach what I wish to my congregation, there no one holding me back from speaking my mind and saying what I think.

“The Pope will make an Impact, pun intended, when I travel with TNA in January.”

Dinero also spoke of his admiration for wrestling legend Rowdy Roddy Piper who, although being born in Canada, took on a Scottish persona throughout his Hall of Fame career.

Pope told us: “I, like many, grew up watching Rowdy Roddy Piper – he was indeed an inspiration to me.

“In fact there are a lot of us guys who owe him a great debt, he paved the way for us with his style, promos and in-ring performance.

“The Rowdy one was a unique character and I have fond memories of his work.”

For more information on the TNA Maximum Impact Tour 2011, and to buy tickets, click here

Credit: PHIL ALLELY of The Sun

About Ray Mullan
Ray Mullan is a longtime wrestling fan and Owner/Editor of TNA UK . Also a contributing writer to a number of other online wrestling media including 1Wrestling.com, Wrestle Zone UK & Lords of Pain.

Leave a Reply

