Breaking News: TNA Wrestling’s Kurt Angle Arrested

Kurt Angle's Mugshot (Courtesy of TMZ)

Kurt Angle's Mugshot (Courtesy of TMZ)

TNA Wrestling superstar Kurt Angle was arrested early this morning in North Dakota.

Law enforcement sources say highway patrol in Grand Forks found Angle sitting in his car in the median separating lanes. We’re told Angle told cops he had hit an icy patch in the road. During the conversation, cops say they smelled alcohol on Angle’s breath. He failed a field sobriety test and was arrested.

Since cops didn’t see Angle driving, he was arrested and later charged with being in control of a motor vehicle while intoxicated — which basically means he was allegedly drunk behind the wheel but not actually driving.

In an update on this story: Kurt Angle issued the following statement on his Twitter page Friday night addressing reports that he was arrested in North Dakota Friday morning on suspicion of operating a vehicle while allegedly intoxicated. “Thank you to my supporters. I was not drunk. I was in ice storm and my car slid into 3 ft of snow median. I called police 4 help. They had other plans. I was stuck and wanted to go to my hotel. I was not passed out drunk. I was co-herent.

“I’m sorry if I let you down. Don’t believe everything You read. My life is good and this is a speed bump in the road. The truth will come out. GOD Bless.

“I take responsibility for this. My job is to stay clean and never put myself in jeopardy. TMZ blew it out of proportion. After my Hearings, I will give You proper story.”

At the risk of over-analyzing Angle’s wording, the final paragraph is interesting after Angle denied the accuracy of TMZ’s report in the first two paragraphs. The last paragraph could be interpreted as Angle saying, in general, his job is to stay clean and stay out of trouble. Or, it could be interpreted as him saying that in this specific instance, he would have liked to have stayed clean. Until Angle gives his “proper story,” it’s not clear.

About Ray Mullan
Ray Mullan is a longtime wrestling fan and Owner/Editor of TNA UK . Also a contributing writer to a number of other online wrestling media including 1Wrestling.com, Wrestle Zone UK & Lords of Pain.

Leave a Reply

