Rob Van Dam Interview with Fame Magazine

Rob Van Dam

Rob Van Dam

FAME Magazine recently published an interview with Rob Van Dam. Here’s some of the highlights –

Why he joined TNA:
“Man I love TNA. It’s a wonderful place to work after some of the places I was in before. I was probably one of the last guys approached by them though. There were big plans in motion it seems if I’d joined right away. A spot in the Main Event Mafia was brought up, but I’m not and never have been one for sharing the spotlight. I prefer to be the star and in the limelight by myself. Plus I’d just came out of the WWE and I was ready for a break from the business at that point so that plan went away. WWE had really burnt me out. My contract stated I’d be given breaks and they never gave them to me. I heard many excuses why and wasn‘t happy about it. You know, they did that constantly and they probably wrecked the chances of many guys going back by treating the talent that way.

When my contract with WWE ended, I just needed time to clear my head and find myself. Yes, TNA tried to get me straight away. They tried to hit me for my wrestling passion and I said no. Bischoff called me, Dixie Carter called me, even Jason Hervey picked up the phone. But I said to myself they are not serious because Hogan hasn’t called yet. Then he did. I was doing my radio show and he called in. The guy spent a half hour explaining on the air why I should join him in TNA.

That was what got me here. Hulk is the most recognized guy there is in the industry. I value his opinion and knew he was doing what he felt was best for us all when he brought guys like myself to TNA. He has a presence, no matter where he features in the company he can make a difference. He may not be performing anymore after his surgery, but he can still entertain and do what he does best: be a legend. People will always want to see him.”

Working for TNA:
“I for one love the freedom here and I know the other guys do too. There are many people who want to work here that find the opportunity isn’t the easy ride they expected it to be. An awful lot of them can’t meet the standards and be in the same zone as the rest of us are. I mean look at Sabu. He has had an unbelievable career and yet he was let go. No matter who you are, you need to prove yourself and if you don’t you’re gone. This company needs to continually trim the fat to keep ourselves up where we are. We need to be consistent. It keeps you on your toes.”

His thoughts on TNA President Dixie Carter:
“Dixie is a real people person. She is what fuels TNA and we all feed off her enthusiasm for the company. She wants first hand connection with our fans. It’s so different to how Vince runs his company. At this stage of my career, they take so much better care of me than the WWE ever did at any point. I’d go as far as to say I mean more to TNA than I did at any point with them.”

About Ray Mullan
Ray Mullan is a longtime wrestling fan and Owner/Editor of TNA UK . Also a contributing writer to a number of other online wrestling media including 1Wrestling.com, Wrestle Zone UK & Lords of Pain.

Leave a Reply

