What’s my Angle? – For Randy Savage

Future number 1 contender?

Like everyone I was deeply saddened by the death of the Macho Man Randy Savage this past weekend. Randy Savage was arguably one of the greatest performers the wrestling world has ever seen and his lose is a tragedy for all.

Some of my earliest memories of wrestling involve Randy Savage, I used to watch Hogan Vs Savage at Wrestlemania 5 over and over and my first every VHS purchase was Summerslam 89 where the main event was Randy Savage & Zeus Vs Hogan and Brutus Beefcake.

I was also privileged to actually see Randy Savage wrestle live, an experience and memory that will stay with me forever and for this reason I would like to dedicate this edition of what’s my Angle? To the Macho Man Randy Savage.

After this sad news we find ourselves with our first glimpse of the new look Impact Wrestling and I must say as confusing as the name change was I do love the new look and from the opening credits the whole show felt fresh and new, but was the show any different? Not really but it’s still early days and looking at some of the stories they are developing its hard not to get excited.

I’m loving the current X Division story with Brian Kendrick’s doing a fantastic job of leading the troops in their battle for recognition within the company. I hope they stick with this and build on what they have started. If I have one complaint with TNA it’s that they have a nasty habit of starting a half decent story only to drop it for no apparent reason.

The two big story pushes that really stand out are the Samoa Joe/Crimson feud and the AJ/Dreamer/Bully Ray feud. Both of these are building nicely and who cannot continue to be impressed with the continual rise of Bully Ray, if TNA cannot recruit a new lead heel for Immortal then look no further then Bully Ray, I’m now beginning to believe this guy has the potential to become the companies lead heel.

The latest segment involving Kurt Angle and Jeff Jarrett was pretty good, the announcement that the winner of the next match will be named number one contender was huge and all points to Kurt finally getting the win over Jarrett and claiming the number one spot. This however was rocked by the stipulation that the winner takes Kurt’s Olympic Gold medal which now makes you think otherwise.

I for one would have a major problem with this, firstly what a way to end the feud with one of the two moving on to the world title scene, secondly the whole gold medal thing has been done before so why dig up previously done stories and thirdly, well it would just out right annoy me to see Kurt lose to Jarrett again, I really don’t like it when my guy loses!!

As for next week, Kurt Angle Vs RVD, like everyone I think this match is pay per view quality but as it’s on Impact Wrestling I fear we will only be teased with what the match could be and as it involves RVD I could very well find myself annoyed.

In ending I would like to say how thrilled I am with this week’s announcement for the 2012 Maximum Impact tour in the UK, I attended Wembley last year and will sure as hell be ready with phone in hand when tickets go on sale.

For anyone who has not attended a live show before, GET TICKETS! I promise you you’ll be in for a fantastic night.

Until next time.

About Rob Towsey
News Writer for DC Comics News, former Columnist for TNAUK, author of "What's My Angle"

Leave a Reply

